All Topics / General Property / Need advice with regards to property investment in Noble Park

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of Sam DiamondSam Diamond
    Participant
    @samdiamond

Hi there,

I am looking to buy a 1 bedroom student accommodation at Ian st in Noble park. Its near to the train station and its a new property. The cost is $170 – 180K

My reasoning for buying is that I will benefit from depreciation and if I pay off the property quickly (in 3 -4 yrs using savings, depreciation and rent received) then it will provide me cash flow. From the start it is cash flow positive. The monthly rent would be $800 per month. This property will be complete by end of 2017. I know it wont have any capital growth. My plan is to be able to pay it off and then using the equity in this property buy another investment and use this one for cash flow.

Also I have to pay 10% to hold it which is what I have in my savings currently.

I am new to property investing and am trying to start with little money that I have currently and trying to invest in cash flow positive properties.

Does anyone see any potential risks or issues that I could face? Any advice or suggestions are welcome.

Thanks,
    Sam

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi Sam,
    Good on you for taking a look, and for coming on here and asking questions. It is way smarter to do that than to go ahead and purchase something and then tell us what you did. Why? Simply because there are way better ways to “start out” than to buy a new one-bedder.

Before signing anything, DO do a few things :-
    1. Run your figures by one of our MBs to get an idea if you really are limited to “new one-bedders”.
    2. Read the thread linked below – there are several posts, some of which will serve to give you a good idea or two about property investing. https://www.propertyinvesting.com/topic/4410491-the-big-picture-for-new-readers-especially/