All Topics / The Treasure Chest / borrowing money agains appreciated equity

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

Hi everyone, i have been following this forum and Steve McNights phylosophies over the past few months with keen interest. I am not new to this, have been investing for over 15 years now, however, i am new to alot of the ideas on this forum. i invest for both capital growth (negative gearing) and positive cash flow and both have worked well for me in the past (with the latter the market has to be favourable). I have recently listened to the fast track tape and although i think it was brilliant, i really dont understand why steve suggests not to borrow out the money after a property has appreciated. i have properties which although negatively geared to start with, have now trippled their value and are paid off (and have reverted to positive cash flow), why am i crazy to use the equity in these properties to borrow more money for new purchases? this is something i do all the time and it just makes no sense to me to sell the properties am i missing something here? [?]
    questioning any advice is appreciated

Profile photo of Stuart WemyssStuart Wemyss
    @stuart-wemyss

Hi Xenia

I totally agree with you. I would use the equity as you are suggesting (otherwise its an underutilised asset). I think Steve would agree with us… or perhaps I need to listen to FastTrack again.

Steve???

Cheers

Stu

Property & Finance News
    at http://www.prosolution.com.au

Profile photo of ADAD
    Participant
    @ad

I think what Steve is talking abut is using that money to live on. There are many people out there who suggest pulling equity out to quite literally eat it. Once you draw down this equity it is no longer legally tax deductible (unless you use cash bonds….yada yada …..too deep for now). Some people think they can legally do this draw down and when audited or pulled up they get a nasty surprise.