All Topics / Help Needed! / Tenancy agreements and insurance

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of SarkSark
    @sark

Hi all,

I have some questions about "continuing" tenancy agreements and whether they are valid in the eyes of insurance companies.

I have been renting out my property in Sydney since May 2006. I entered into a 6-month tenancy agreement in May 2006 which therefore stopped being a "fixed term period" agreement in November 2006. I have not signed a new fixed term agreement so the same tenant is still living there but on a continuing agreement. Also, since the fixed term agreement, I have increased the rent.

I have landlord insurance that protects against rental loss on this property. In their terms and conditions, it mentions: "You are not covered if there is no signed tenancy agreement in force at the time of the loss or damage."

1) Does this mean the insurance company does not recognise a "continuing" tenancy agreement if I were to claim rental loss?
    2) Given the current rent has increased from that stated on the fixed term tenancy agreement, will the insurance company insure me only for the initial rental amount or the current rental amount even if I can provide sufficient proof of  the current rental amount?
    3) Of a more general nature, is it more advisable to be in a fixed term tenancy agreement than a continuing tenancy agreement?

Hope my questions/post makes sense…

Thanks in advance.

Profile photo of millionsmillions
    Participant
    @millions

I asked my ins co if the rent went up do I need to advise them and they said not necessarily. Are your tenants on a periodic tenancy? I would call your ins agency and check with them what their terms are.

Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

If you want to claim against your landlords insurance in terms of rent loss. There must be a written fixed term tenancy in place!