All Topics / Help Needed! / First home investment property

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of onexonex
    Participant
    @onex

Hi my name is EJ,

For the past months I have been researching and reading up on strategies on how I can secure my first IP. I am a newbie and am currently reading through Steve’s book.

Right now it seem that taking the opportunity to use government incentives as a first home buyer with an investment mindset is a good approach. This means that I will have the property as my primary residence for 6 months before being able to rent it out. I have been looking and many different approaches and I wanted to ask for some advice. On if there is another approach or direction I can take.

Right now I am still going to different areas around Brisbane, Ipswich and Logan areas so I can gain more understanding and to loose a bit of the first property buying emotions. I want to secure a property/land before August.

I have set a budget of 400k and I am looking at newer houses (for depreciation benefits) or land to build. I am open to locations in NSW and VIC as I have seen the capital growth potential in some areas in these states. However, I have been analysing QLD primarily – in particularly Brisbane’s southwest. I don’t know if it is feasible to do a duplex build with my current budget which is why for the first IP I am currently looking at residential homes. The second IP will most definitely be a duplex which I aim to develop within 2 years of my first using equity and so on.

The approach with finance will be a 90% LVR as I am looking for locations with capital growth potential and cash flow. I would really like to know whether this strategy has potential and if there are some other factors that I should also be considering.

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi Onex,