All Topics / Help Needed! / 10% or 20% deposit on Investment Property

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of glengaryglengary
    Participant
    @jamesbi

Hey guys I am a beginner and I have this question going through my head. I am buying an apartment for $600,000. I have 20% deposit ready. My plan is to live in the apartment for about 5 years and than turn it into a Investment property, rent it out and purchase a home to settle in. I do plan on having a 100% offset account which I can store all my savings and principle repayments in, so later I can withdraw from my offset account and deposit into my future PPOR and be able to claim a higher tax deduction for my apartment when it becomes an IP. My question is whether to deposit a 10% or 20% on the apartment, I am thinking if I deposit 10% which will be a $540,000 remaining principle and than I can store the remaining 10% (I have) into the offset account so in future I have a higher tax deduction when it becomes an IP or should I just pay the 20% deposit and have $480,000 remaining so the loan repayments will be cheaper? Sorry if it doesn’t make sense, I’m new to the whole property investment thing.

Profile photo of Modernity InvestingModernity Investing
    Participant
    @mark-coburn

My first thought is buying with a 20% deposit reduces your risk and that is the most important thing to set out to do when investing above all else you need to preserve your investment capital and reducing your default risk with a 20% deposit does just that.

If you would like to reduce your risk further you could rent it out instead of living in it. Why you ask? Because the bank looks at part of the rent (80%<>) as though it is your income (almost yours) as a result you will increase your borrowing capacity for your next purchase. But thats not all, generally speaking renting is cheaper then then owning, so you will have more surplus income to keep on saving for your next investment property or PPoR.