All Topics / Help Needed! / Property Manager price rise.

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of MikalHowardMikalHoward
    Participant
    @mikalhoward

Hi all,

I have just received a letter from my Property Manager for the contract renewal. Over and above anything else, they have increased their fee from 8% to 8.8%. We have not discussed this, its just printed on the new contract for me to sign.

My question is, is it fair for my Property Manager to increase their fees when I have been asking for the rent to be increased for 6 months? If their excuse to me is the market is flat and the current tenant won't be able to afford it, can mine be the same against their price rise.

Just thought i'd get other opinions.

Cheers,

Mikal

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm

Hi Mikal

They are welcome to put their fees up.  Equally, you are welcome to take your business elsewhere or negotiate with them.  Nobody is forcing you to sign their new agreement. 

You are welcome to put your rent up.  Equally a tenant is welcome to accept the rise, or move out.  As to whether you would get another tenant quickly depeneds on many factors, including the condition and location of the property, its price, how many tenants are looking for a place to live, and what kind of dwellings people are looking for.  Generally tenants will not move for a $5/week rise. 

If your Property Manager tells you the market is flat, or that your tenant cannot endure a rental hike, this is information you are, in part, paying them to give to you.  I think that most folks can sustain a $5 hike.  If they could not, then they can never afford anything at all out of the ordinary to happen to them ever.  eg get sick, must go to doctor, and purchase a packet of antibiotics.