All Topics / Help Needed! / Treading carefully

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 24 total)
  • Profile photo of Charlie_BCharlie_B
    Participant
    @charlie_b

Hi everyone,
    I'm a newbie on this site and am enjoying reading about people's experiences here.

I'm not yet an investor, but am just about ready to jump in the deep end. My situation is as follows:

• Am 36yrs and married with 2 preschool aged kids
    • Husband is paying child support for 4 other children from his first marriage
    • I'm working part-time on a reasonable wage
    • Husband is working full-time on an average/reasonable wage
    • We are renting ourselves in Sydney and don't own any form of real estate or other investments
    • We have no debts
    • We have about $40 000 in cash at our disposal to invest

My accountant has recently given me advice to purchase an IP in a regional area. I have thought about doing this over the last few years, but just didn't take any action as I was unsure whether we could afford it. I think that investing in property is going to be our best chance of being able to buy our PPOR in about 10 years time. I'm only just trying to wade through all the information there is on varying strategies, finance, rental yield, capital growth etc… I've just purchased the Residex Best Rent Report which is somewhat useful in narrowing my search.

I'm trying to decide whether it's best to buy a small unit under $100 000 (a debt that I know we'll be able to service in the worst case scenario of extended vacancies, rent decline, interest rate rises etc….), or whether I should be looking at a better quality house that is around $300 000 but may be more attractive to tenants and buyers in the future.

Any thoughts?

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Charlie

Welcome to the forum.