All Topics / Help Needed! / Self Employed = banks don’t like us

Viewing 16 posts - 1 through 16 (of 16 total)
  • Profile photo of TeTe
    @te

Hi guys I'm a total newbie to this forum, thanks for listening to my woes….
    Hubby and I have been self employed for around 5 years now. We have a property, prior to buying our business it was valued at $400k, since then completed a massive shed and now would be worth around $500k (not actually been valued), loan on the was property $130k, but in 4 years its now down to $35k.
    We used a broker to help us buy the business, set up a LOC with property equity and made it look more like and investment loan, rather than a commercial business loan. LOC $150K.
    We are looking to buy and investment property, but we'd also like to build something better on our current property (totally over living in a 2 bed demountable with 2 kids!)
    We both work in the business and in the last couple of years its made small profits (08/09 $40K, 09/10 $80K) its not a company only a partnership, for tax purposes this works fine. But as sole traders/partners we dont pay ourselves "directors wages" only drawings. Which makes it difficult to prove to banks our earning capacity. Also we dont want our current bank to know that the LOC is actually a business loan.

Problem, thanks for sticking with me so far, we are currently only able to go LoDoc loan, which is 60%, taking out the current loans we have ($185K) we can only get around $350-400k maxiumum. To build a house where we live, would be around $400k. So there is absolutly nothing left for investing!