All Topics / Help Needed! / Young, and keen to start! Is investing for me yet, or should I wait?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Jarrod NJarrod N
    @jarrod-n

Greetings, I am a 23 year old university student, in my first year of PhD research.
    I have studied up on property investing, reading a few books, and scouring through various forums and topics, and am very keen to break into the property market.
    However, I am unsure whether it is the right time to begin aqcuiring assets, or it would be dangerous for me to do so in my current position.

As I am a university student, I have very little income other than the scholarship I am currently on. This is enough to cover my living expenses, and put away about $500 per month in savings.
    I do not have any prior savings, therefore do not have any starting capital to begin investing on my own terms, meaning I would have to borrow 100-110% of the sale price of a house, attracting mortgage insurance and a 'high risk' label.

With the interest rate low, I am keen to invest in an initial property, which will provide a positive cashflow, or at least positive equity building. In fact, it is uninportant for me at this stage to be earning profits from anything I invest in, but I would rather build up my equity and asset collection for when I do get full time employment after completing my doctorate in 2 1/2 years.

Generally, is there any advice on my position? Is it worth looking into the property market, or too high risk for me?
    I do enjoy a challenge, and I am a fast learner who is willing to put in the hours to manage such an investment, and really dont want to wait until I am 30 to invest.. the earlier I start building my portfolio, the better!

Please help!
    Thankyou,
    Jarrod

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Sounds like it will be hard.