All Topics / Help Needed! / What should I do

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Profile photo of MissmollyMissmolly
    @missmolly

Hi All

I am just new to this post  – its great – lots of really useful information.

I am stuck at the moment only because I don't know what to do – I earn approx $100k and have approx $55k in the bank – with no debt and no other assets

Do I continue to save to eventually buy my "first home" – don't fancy buying in Sydney so would just continue to save – or do I have enough $$ to perhaps get me in the door for my first investment property.

May be I need to see a financial advisor as I really don't have a clue but aren't bad at saving money – just want to make it starting working for me.

Any comments would really be appreciated.

Thanks

Profile photo of ducksterduckster
    Participant
    @duckster

If you buy an investment property you do not live in it and it can be in an area where you can afford the loan repayments.
    You will have to weigh it up with losing the first home owners grant.

Baby steps are better than having a huge mortgage that you struggle to repay and that greatly leaves you at the mercy of interest rate increases. Once you pay off part of the loan you will start to have an extra income source to purchase the next house and equity that can be borrowed against to buy another property.

My general advice would be to buy investing books on property take a look at http://www.businessmall.com.au and look at Australian Property investing magazine http://www.apimagazine.com.au and another magazine I recently discovered called your investment property http://www.yipmag.com.au when you are in the newsagents.
    Education at a very cheap price.
    What you need to be aware of is the property takes time to build wealth.

Profile photo of v8ghiav8ghia
    @v8ghia
    duckster wrote: