All Topics / Help Needed! / Stamp duty late payment

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of devo76devo76
    @devo76

My recent purchase of a IP included all cost like morgage insurance and stamp duty. I was told by the convayancing agent that stamp duty must be paid to the OSR within 3 months or i will be sluged with a late payment fee. Now the problem is the bank will not release any funds until settlement in three months.So what do i do?? Do i make sure stamp duty is paid on settlement not a day late or do i push the bank to release the money allocated for stamp duty a bit sooner to make it safe.
    PS how do i pay the stamp duty, is a cheque giving to the convayancer who passes it on to the OSR or am i responsible and get the bank to pay direct for me.
    Sorry for all the questions ,im new to this and tend to over analize everthing(that means worry) when some times i should just let things happen.

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007

If the loans are cross collaralised then there is little you can do as the lender will not released funds until he gets title to the property.

If you have arranged them correctly as stand alone deals then merely draw down one of the loan prior to settlement of the other and you wil be fine.

Cheers

Richard Taylor
    Residential & Commercial Finance Broker.
    Licensed Financial Planner. Ph: 07 3720 1888
    [email protected]
    New Shared Equity scheme has arrived – Email us for details.

Richard Taylor | Australia's leading private lender

Profile photo of raddlesraddles
    @raddles

HI there