All Topics / Finance / Really need help in these financial questions…

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of vernonvernon
    @vernon

I am new to the property market in WA and am currently seeking pre approval from the bank to purchase my first IP (existing property). I need your expert opinions and feedback on 2 matters…

1) Variable or 1 to 3 years fixed loan – which one is better and what do I have to look out for in each case?

2) Interest only repayments or interest AND principal repayments – Which do people normally choose and if I can afford it I would like to pay off the loan in the shortest time possible so does that mean I should choose interest AND principal repayments?

Thanks greatly for your help!

Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    @xenia

Hi Vernon

professional investors try to LEVERAGE as much as possible.

Interest only and variable is the goer for max leverage, but you have to also consider your own risk profile.

We buy properties in Adelaide. Immediate Cash Settlements, No Real Estate Agents, No Fees.
    [email protected]
    phone 0412 437 582

Profile photo of Mortgage HunterMortgage Hunter
    Participant
    @mortgage-hunter

IO with an offset account is my suggestion.

Pay down as much as you like in the offset but the money is there to use as you wish.

If you do use it for personal purposes then you wont jeopardise the tax setup.

This is quite important if you choose to buy a PPOR in the future.

Cheers,

Simon Macks
    Residential and Commercial Finance Broker

[email protected]
    0425 228 985

Comments may not be relevant to individual circumstances. If you intend making any investment, financial or taxation decision you should consult a professional adviser.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Beware of fixing. This can make changing banks or even selling your property costly if rates move.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    North Sydney
    [email protected]