All Topics / Creative Investing / Frist Lease Option

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of randallcrandallc
    @randallc

Hi all this is my first post…

I have a property that is negatively geared which I am thinking of selling via a lease option. I have never done this before but have purchased Ricks wrap pack and been to a few VFA meetings.
    I was wondering if someone could give me a sanity check if the following is OK.

My position is this:
    Purchased the property 3 years ago for $320,000
    It is currently rented at $330 per week
    Most recent sale of property 2 doors up, which is for the sake of the exercise is much the same sold last year for $416,000. So applying about 8% (3% CPI + 5% growth) growth in the past year leads me to think it is worth about $450,000 on the open market today.

My proposed Lease option is this:
    Lease option mark-up 10% = $495,000 sale price.
    Lease option fee of 1% of the agreed option price ($4950)
    2 year option with an option renewal fee of .05% of the agreed option price ($2475) for a further 2 year option.
    Lease costs of $475 per week with $25 per week going towards the purchase price.
    Purchaser pays all outgoing.
    All money forfeited if the option is not taken up or renewed.

Any feedback on my numbers would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

R

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Randallc

I am not familiar with Rick’s LO style, but if it would normally rent for $330 pw and you want to charge $475, this is $145 pw extra in rent, but you only give a $25 pw credit. So it seems very expensive to me. Plus the option fee and renewal fee.

This may be compensated by the high growth (projected) in the property.

It sounds good from your point of view, but may be hard to find someone to accept this deal.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    North Sydney
    [email protected]

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd