All Topics / Help Needed! / Uni Girl needs advice

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of EmZYEmZY
    @emzy

Hey everyone…

i’m 19 years old, female, from sydney [exhappy]
    and i’m a full time uni student.
    i’m open to new ideas and advice with what to do with my savings…
    i’ve got $3 500 saved up sitting in my savings bank account earning interest around the $14 per month mark.
    i’m currently unemployeed at the moment, with no income apart from my parents, so i’m looking for new ways of making money while still in uni.

any investing strategies and ideas would be greatful :)

thanks guys

[exhappy]

:)

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Get a part-time job, save, save, save!!! Make sure your 3.500 earning the maximum interest possible, and keep up the good work. (And…study hard) LOL

Jo

Profile photo of MyydralMyydral
    @myydral

Hi there EmZY. Depending on how stressful your studies are ( and what you are studying ), perhaps you could start a small business helping other students?

Tax deductions could also come into play there too – phone paperwork etc. You would need to speak to a pro about, perhaps someone here has already done it and could give you some tips?

Good luck

“Looking forward to the day when I can tell the boss where to go”

Profile photo of MonopolyMonopoly
    @monopoly

Hi EmZY,

Look, you can go forward, but it depends on how “motivated” you are. I purchased my first property only weeks before turning 18, and I was going to school full time, but working part time, 2-3 jobs!!!
    With any luck you are (a) living at home, and (b) getting some sort of study/student benefit (Austudy) whatever.
    Anyway, there are legitimate ways to get some kind of tax deductions because of your studies and/or low income.
    You seem to be doing the right things, studying and saving. Keep it up, you get there…

Cheers,

Jo

Profile photo of gatsbygatsby
    @gatsby

Hi EmZY,