All Topics / Help Needed! / Feedback for something different

Viewing 17 posts - 1 through 17 (of 17 total)
  • Profile photo of tommotommo
    @tommo

Hi everyone, I am new to this forum and can say I am a beginner in the investment property game however I’d like throw open a scenario which I have been thinking about for a while, to possibly obtain some feedback or thoughts on the matter so I’ll keep it simple at this stage.

My reasoning for this exercise is two fold:
    1.to establish a medium to long-term investment strategy by thinking a little outside the square.
    2. improve the cash flow situation (reduce outgoing increase incoming)

Basically I am looking to sell my property in the Hills district of Sydney, which is my current place of residence. Sounds simple enough yes, but rather than buying another home/investment to live in, I am looking to do a few things differently.
    (There is my wife, a one year old and myself, which comprise the family)

When I sell my home, pay out the mortgage, and some other loans/debts I will end up with somewhere between 220 and 250K.
    (The figure may vary based on what the home is sold for but 220 is a very safe bet)

My thoughts at this time are that (first thing’s first) we find a suitable place to live after we sell and at present we are looking to move closer to the city. This will be easier for us to travel to and from work (as we are both city based). With respect to moving I am proposing that we rent not buy. During this time probably looking to spend about 400 a week in rent, which is less than our present interest repayments on the mortgage.

So, to review the scenario to date we have paid out all our debts, we have cash in the bank and our only major outgoings are 1.6K per month rental to live where suits our present lifestyle. Our total incomings per month are about 10K