All Topics / Hotch Potch / Vendor Finance

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of dave_3dave_3
    @dave_3

I’m new to vendor finance, but intrigued at the idea and looking seriously at Steve’s new wrap kit.
    By coincidence, I have a tenant who wants to buy the property he currently occupies on vendor terms. I’m keen to explore further, as the property has become a bit of a lead weight… good capital growth over the last few years, but now neg. geared to the tune of some $250 p.m.
    Steve’s example of v.f. as one of the 5 key strategies is a good basis, however it applies to a new deal where a property needs to be acquired, a lease-purchase tenant acquired, deposit paid and loan set up, etc.
    My siituation is obviously different as the mortgage is in place and I feel that the capital growth sufficiently covers my original acquisition costs.
    Anyone have any thoughts on how a genuine win/win deal could be structured? I’d like to help this young couple at the same time as avoiding the exit costs (incl.CGT) of selling. The property is in Sydney, worth about $450k and renting for $330 p.w.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Hi
    You could just get a couple of valuations done (and average them), and add your margin to this (20%) for the tenants purchase price.

Terryw
    Discover Home Loans
    North Sydney
    [email protected]

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of JuliaJulia
    @julia

Dave,
    Just some information on the tax effect of the transaction to make sure you know what you are getting yourself into: