All Topics / The Treasure Chest / Landlord’s Insurance – QLD

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of MaryBMaryB
    @maryb

Hi everyone

I was wondering if any of you have had any experience with Landlord’s Insurance in QLD.

I’ve been given 2 to choose from – Barclay MIS and another (which I can’t find at the moment-very messy workspace!).

One is from $44 per year and the other is approx $220 per year.

As I am new to IPs and this is our first in SE QLD, I have no idea of which one, or perhaps if there is some other company that we should go with.

Basically I want one that does what it says… going after the tenants to get your money back, cover any damages over and above the bond, etc. I don’t want to find out a year down the track that we have made a costly mistake that could have been avoided.

Any advice and stories of past experiences would be greatly appreciated.
    Thx, Mary
    [:D]

Profile photo of caddy222caddy222
    Participant
    @caddy222

Hi Mary B, I have IP in south east Qld. I use MGA Insurance brokers P/L – Toowong Qld – phone 38761224. They paid up for me when a tenant refused to. I took a while for he processing but there was no arguments from them. In the instance of tenants defaulting though the eviction has to take place through the courts for the insurance guys to recognise the rent in arrears payment.

Also they have always been friendly etc and good natured on the phone that always helps I find as they will refer you on if they cannot help. Oh and don’t forget which ever one you choose read the small print.
    Caddy [8D]

Profile photo of ErikaErika
    @erika

Hi Mary
    We have several properties in Brissie and we pay about $220/year. We use a company called Aon but CGU and Terry Sheiffer also does it. Talk to your realestate agent who rents out the property to see who they use.
    If you have multiple properties it is better to deal with the insurer straight as you get a discount.

Erika