Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of TypingDogTypingDog
    Participant
    @typingdog

Hi,

I’m a newbie to this forum, so if this is in the wrong place just shoot me a DM and I’ll remove the post.

I’ve been scouring different options to maximize yield and have come across Airbnb as potentially optimal.

After taking into account a higher vacancy rate and cleaning costs, the yield works out to be ~8% (across a few properties in Melbourne). This beats almost any residential property in Melbourne, what am I missing? Higher insurance costs?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Kind regards,

Typing Dog.

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi Typing Dog,

I don’t think you are missing much at all.  I ran my own airbnb for a number of years, and its return was very good despite the high vacancy rate. Alongside that, it allowed for tradies to come by through the week if needed (saved expensive weekend callout rates) and it also allowed us to take our own holiday times when it was not in use (you don’t typically get these benefits with a standard rental).   Our return was also around 8 – 9% – it varied year to year.  Some months would be thru the roof, while others would be low.