All Topics / General Property / Getting started, but seem's impossible.

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of CarrCarr
    Participant
    @andyjamescarr

Hello,
    I’m completely new to property investing. I read Steve’s book after deciding that I wanted to replace my income.
    I don’t know if I am doing calculations correctly or even if I am doing the correct calculation. The way I am looking at things, property has increased in value a lot since 0-130 was written.

I’m trying to look at things in terms of ‘buying’ cashflow, but when I do that, it starts to get a bit depressing, as I’m looking at finding a deposit of $60,000 (LTV 80% on a purchase price of $300,000, earning a weekly rent of about $285)to earn a positive weekly cashflow of $115. Does that seem correct?

To replace my family’s weekly expenses, I’d need to do this about 17 times.

I have a discretionary family trust with a corporate trustee. I don’t see how the bank would lend me enough money to do the above 17 times over.

What am I missing?

Andy

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi Carr,
    Keep in mind that Steve’s book was written many years ago and, even when he was buying up, this was in a “forgotten area” of Ballarat. He bought there because the numbers worked for him there, at that time. Later, when the numbers didn’t work, he moved his focus to NZ, then later to the USA. It was all about tailoring his investing to the areas in which that style would work.

In my welcome PM to you, did you happen upon the example (from a more recent timeframe) where a young bloke was using a similar pattern to build up his portfolio. In case you didn’t, check out his post here:-
    https://www.propertyinvesting.com/topic/4410491-the-big-picture-for-new-readers-especially/#post-4697977