All Topics / Help Needed! / Should I make the most of the Qld First Home Buyers Grant and free stamp duty??

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of KingKing
    Participant
    @jaydenwalter

Hi all, I’m new to this forum but I’ve been very interested in property investment for quite some time. I’m 22 and I live on the Sunshine Coast, Queensland (currently renting). I graduated uni a couple years back and I am currently employed in a professional role.

I have a lot of questions but I guess a good place to start would be this one. The QLD First Home Owners Grant is being boosted to $20k after July 1st 2016. Now, the catch is that it needs to be a new property and I have to live in the property for 12 months in order to qualify. This means I would be buying a property with no manufactured growth potential and I don’t see there being too much capital growth in the near future as the areas I would need to buy in would be saturated with new homes. In addition, I am also eligible for free stamp duty (but again, only if I live at the property).

I’m tossing up what to do. My ideal strategy would be to buy a problem and renovate to sell a solution (I have the time and ability), however, I would be giving up a free $20k and having to pay stamp duty if I did that. Any advice/general discussion is welcome.

Thanks

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi King,

I have a lot of questions but I guess a good place to start would be this one.

And what a good question it is, King. You are obviously no stranger to the tenets we hold in this place, as you nicely presented the pros and cons of the situation. A good discussion around this area would help many, so let’s go……

The QLD First Home Owners Grant is being boosted to $20k after July 1st 2016. Now, the catch is that it needs to be a new property and I have to live in the property for 12 months in order to qualify.