All Topics / General Property / Crazy tenant demands

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of XeniaXenia
    Participant
    @xenia-alexarealestate

Over the years as a property manager I thought I had seen it all but this morning’s request from a tenant has to take the cake.

There was a brand new Electric hot water unit installed in one of our rental properties yesterday.

To replace a similar faulty one that was leaking.

This morning we had a repair request come through from the tenant and it said.
    I know that the hot water unit is brand-new but I would like the landlord to remove it and put it in a gas hot water unit, can you tell me when she would be able to do that?

I let my office staff handle the reply to that one obviously a big fat NO!

But my answer would have been ” yes sure would you like me to come and give you a foot massage at the same time? A brand-new car with that perhaps? What else would you like? ”

Had to share because it’s funny

Xenia | Alexa Real Estate Pty Ltd
    http://www.alexarealestate.com.au/
    Email Me | Phone Me

Adelaide Property Manager

Profile photo of DanbDanb
    Participant
    @hoffmand

I had a young first time renting couple in one of my places, who must have been told that they wouldn’t have to pay for water use by their parents. When they realised that they WERE liable to pay for any water use, they put in a request that I pay for an electric water pump ($500 !) so they can use the rain water tank on the garden.
    My answer was a solid NO! and reminded them that the town water supply will deliver to their door a trailer load of water for only $2 or $3.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

I know that the hot water unit is brand-new but I would like the landlord to remove it and put it in a gas hot water unit, can you tell me when she would be able to do that?

lol – some people! Probably think the owner is made of money.