All Topics / Help Needed! / What would you do with $200k?

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of newbie6363newbie6363
    Participant
    @newbie6363

Would love some advice from you learned people…here is the situation:

We have been very fortunate to inherit approx. $200k – I know, not a bad problem to have but we really want to utilise it in the best way to make a real difference to our life. We have just moved to the Newcastle area. I am working fulltime earning $120k. Prior to the move we had a coffee shop which my husband worked in full time but he is a chippy by trade. The idea with the move was to open another café but now with this unexpected cash we are weighing up our options. We have a passion for property and have a fair few successful renovations under our belts. We are trying for a bub so while we are easily able to live on my wage now we would like to think I will not be working within 12 months and so we will need an income stream for day to day living. Our ideal goal is for both of us not to have to have regular fulltime jobs – not to say we don’t want to work but we would like to have the flexibility of working for ourselves.

Some options as we see them:

Buy up run-down properties while I’m working and have borrowing power and hubby to renovate full time. But at some point we will run out of $$$ and/or borrowing power and can we really amass enough property that within 12 months it would earn an income stream of around $80k – I don’t think so. We could probably sell off and live on profits for a year or so but then it would be back to normal work and little or no property portfolio.

Hubby has been offered full-time work. If he took that for 12 months, double our borrowing power and buy up as much property as we can with potential but able to be rented out immediately. Then in a years’ time we spent a year or 2 just going through and renovating. Still seems limiting to me and I can still see us back in regular work.