All Topics / Help Needed! / Good house, average area? feedback appreciated!!

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Profile photo of KnoxKnox
    Participant
    @knox1

Hi there,

Just looking for an opinion on a situation I’m in right now. Firstly I’m a newbie and this is my first post :) I’ve been doing a fair bit of searching and trying to educate myself the past 6 months or so to get into the property investing mindset. But here it is:

– I have around $140,000 saved (military deployment and inheritance), I live just north of Adelaide and after inspecting have found a neat little 2br, 1 bth brick house in the suburb of Blair Athol. It’s listed for between $299,000-$309,000 (around my budget) and was built in 2007. From what i know the area of the suburb is largely housing trust. I’ve done some calculating (roughly) and I believe that I can positively gear this property (just) My main concern is if I was to go ahead with this property I’d need to outlay $100,000 (best case) to bring the price down be able to positively gear it as far as i understand…and thats a fair chunk of money! I’m concerned also about the area but the location is good I think as its only 10km or so north of the city and my newbie guess is that in 5-10 years the area may improve. It was previously rented for $300pw but have been informed it could be rented up to $310.

This may sound like a stupid quetion but, is it wise to outlay more money, to bring the price down and therefore turn it to a positively geared investment?

Thanks for your time, I can try my best to elaborate! Any feedback would be greatly appreciated :)

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi Knox,

This may sound like a stupid quetion but, is it wise to outlay more money, to bring the price down and therefore turn it to a positively geared investment?

By adding more deposit you are bringing the Mortgage down, not the price (but then, THERE’s an idea !! Read on…)