All Topics / Help Needed! / looking for an answer

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of TerryTerry
    Participant
    @talsar

Hi there every one
    A little about myself
    I am a trade qualified painter decorator, licensed/ trade qualified carpenter licensed builder
    I had a bit of money so I built a very nice house for the sole purpose of on selling or the backup plan was to rent it out. it is purely an investment
    Well, it did not sell, (right house wrong location, or the right location wrong house depending how one looks at it)
    The reserve bank put up required deposits from 10 to 20 % effectively putting the brakes on the building industry
    though they have softened and I believe on new housing only a 10% deposit is required
    Problem is
    the very nice brand new house has a tenant (it is now 2nd hand) with a 3 year lease
    property value $450.000 annual rent $20,800.00
    it also holds all my cash effectively tying my hands
    You see I initially began to look at cash positive house but was dismayed at the quality of past repairs, or no repairs & age etc, and thought (bright idea) I can build one cheaper, you know cause I know what I’m doing RIGHT, Ha Ha it turns out I should have got some one else to build it for me because they would have built a house and maybe I would have gone by the dollars, were as I built a very nice home
    There are lessons here to learn and I’m prepared to keep my mouth shut & ears wide open

I don’t have to sell or do I

can it be sold discretely with a 3 year lease tenants will be there for life capital gains could be made in the next cycle

can it be swapped

all comments and thought and welcome

Terry | TRC Property Services
    Email Me | Phone Me

Remember: nothing stays the same and you can't make change with out changing

Profile photo of Jacqui MiddletonJacqui Middleton
    Participant
    @jacm

Hi Robinson