All Topics / Finance / Wages vs sub contractor vs company

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of sam.bsam.b
    Participant
    @sam.b

Hey all
    A little bit off property here but just after advice on the following.
    Im a carpenter full time on wages and my boss has being asking if I wanted to change to subcontract or set up a company and subcontract to him. My morgage broker told me to stay on wages as it will be easier to get finance for future investments so just after any thoughts?

I no if I subcontract he will pay super and ill have to take my tax out and holidays and sick and so on but the difference in rate 38hr to 47hr allows for that I think?

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Just because you ‘subcontract’ doesn’t necessarily meaan you are a conntractor. There are various tests to pass from a superannuation POV and a tax point of view. There are also the legal side of things — you will need your own insurance for starters.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of wilko1wilko1
    Participant
    @wilko1

If you are going to be subcontracting back to the builder and Doing the majority of your work for him. Could be seen as sham contracting.

You also have to look at things like job security. As a subby, if things cool down and there is no work you have no income, a full-time job means you do have a level of stability.