All Topics / Help Needed! / Advice on Buying off the plan

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of glengaryglengary
    Participant
    @jamesbi

Hey guys I am pretty new to buying off the plan. I was interested in buying off the plan land and home package for my 1st PPOR. I have been reading a few mix opinions about off the plan saying good and not so good. I wanted to get your feedbacks positive and negative, what do you reckon??

Thanks

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

The good:

1. Massive depreciation benefits (which of course is only applicable for investments)

The bad:

1. You cannot see the workmanship until the product is delivered which by then is too late to back out

2. You generally pay a premium for a new dwelling vs an established dwelling

3. Valuations may be an issue depending on the area and this may significantly impact your ability to complete the purchase

My vote would be no to the OTP. Invest in a better area, wait and then build on the land at a much later time. You can always change the house but never the location of the land.

Is the property a house and land package or are you buying land and then buying?

TheFinanceShop | Elite Property Finance
    http://www.elitepropertyfinance.com
    Email Me | Phone Me

Residential and Commercial Brokerage

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

One of the biggest issues with OTP is an inability to arrange finance until the property is close to completion.

Therefore, if your circumstances change during the construction period or the valuation doesn't stack up – you may have issues sourcing finance. If that happens, you stand to lose your deposit and possibly more.

All in all, OTP can work in certain markets (rising ones) but I'm personally not a huge fan of them.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me