All Topics / Help Needed! / Starting Out..PPOR becoming IP#1

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of DraytoneDraytone
    Participant
    @draytone

Hi guys,

I've been trawling around here for a little bit now and was so taken by the generousity of some of the more experienced members here, I decided to sign up and become a part of this community, hopefully one day being able to give something back. I ended up here as I am very new to the "property investment" game and am in an odd situation that I was interested to get some educated opinions on.

I am 28 and purchased my PPOR residence 5 years ago. It currently has a rough market value of $430k ish, with a debt of about $300k. We are currently paying P&I.

I have been wanting to look at adding an investment property in order to start a portfolio of buy/hold type properties (potentially with renovate fitting in there down the track as I'm handy on the tools). However, in later this year my American wife and I are moving to Los Angeles with our kids for an unknown period of time. Our current property will become our first rental as we would like to hold to build towards a portfolio of a handful of properties. We currently have a list of friends that have expressed interest in renting the property at $450 a week.