All Topics / Help Needed! / Hold on to investment or sell and re-invest

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of L.PADFIELDL.PADFIELD
    @l.padfield

Hi Everyone  , just after whatever advice everyone can help with .

Im 26 and have just completed first investment property with a mate , we bought a 2 bed 1 bath unit in 3 storey walk up on the top level in surfers paradise , 100m from beach with small sea views. We paid $250000 for it and spent $25000 renovating it top to bottom , looks totally brand new now .

Should we hold onto it or sell and try make profit and turn to houses .?

Also i borrowed funds for my share in this project so financially finding it a little tough at the moment . Dont know what to do from here?

Really wanted this to be a stepping stone for me into property.

Also after some advice and/or opportunities regarding getting into property developing here on the Gold Coast . I am a builder by trade and love property just dont know how to really get into it properly. 

Profile photo of BennyBenny
    @benny

Hi L,

Welcome to PropertyInvesting.com – sounds like the beginning of a success story ….smiley    I'd be interested to hear a bit more about just what you have done.  Your phrase "turn to houses" has me thinking you might have renovated an apartment (??)    Later: I see you have now added more info – great, I'll go check it out.

Quote:
    We paid $250000 for it and spent $25000 renovating it top to bottom , looks totally brand new now .

Sounds cool – to help me out here, what kind of prices would a renovated unit fetch in that location?  $350k?  More?   Have there been any others in that same block that have sold recently?

My early thoughts would be to run the numbers to see which way would make sense.  Also, it is important to consider whether it will be two of you going forward, or just one of you.  That answer might change the whole dynamics of the situation.