All Topics / Help Needed! / Question about equity

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of Jude13Jude13
    Participant
    @jude13

Hi everyone. I'm new to your great forum. I'm finding it hard to get my head around equity. I have read that banks treat it just like cash. If so does this amount get deducted from the loan amount or do the banks just lend against it and treat it as security. My wife and I want to buy our first IP. Our current position is PPOR $400,000. Current loan $150,000. Our combined income is $80,000. We have one dependant child. Looking at kicking off our portfolio in a regional area for positive cashflow around the $200,000 mark to start with. It would be much appreciated if someone could explain this to me in very simple terms. Thanks

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

A lender will lend you up to 90% (some times 95%) of the value of the property. At 80% LMI is not payable but anything over that is.

So if your property value is $400,000 then at 80% you have $320,000 in equity minus your current loan balance of $150,000 – the usable equity is $170,000.

Make sure the loans and properties are standalone and not crossed. Also ensure that all your income (include the proposed rental income) is going in an offset held against the PPOR loan. 

Consider tapping all of your equity today even if you do not plan to use it all in the next purchase.

TheFinanceShop | Elite Property Finance
    http://www.elitepropertyfinance.com
    Email Me | Phone Me

Residential and Commercial Brokerage

Profile photo of wilko1wilko1
    Participant
    @wilko1

"Consider tapping all of your equity today even if you do not plan to use it all in the next purchase."