All Topics / Help Needed! / The plunge into the investment pool! Detailed read, but your guidence requested!

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Profile photo of SteraStera
    Participant
    @stera

Hello to you all!

I’ve been a member of this forum for a while, but have only been on during hot flushes when flirting with the idea of an investment property. With the addition of a small family and the goal to retire in approx. 20 years, I’ve really been thinking about getting a toe in the investment pond and most importantly have the support of my previously reluctant partner and am looking to start things off!

I’ve been researching for a few months and noticed a window advertisement for a property and upon enquiring with the selling agent was advised that this property was purchased at approx. 50k below the advertised price by a fellow real estate agent (around 200k selling price). This got me really looking!

Being based in Adelaide, Im keen to stick to local areas and have picked a few suburbs that are the located near public transport, shopping, schooling, 5-10kms from the CBD, are located next to ‘good’ suburbs and Im noticing some redevelopment and aim to be part of this suburb becoming the NEXT ‘good’ suburb, which I believe we did with our PPOR!!

Essentially I am looking to list what my intentions are and have the support or suggestions provided by yourselves, who are more experienced, knowledgeable and have walked in my shoes before and can share helpful tips or advice to learn from your positive or negative encounters.

At this stage we have our PPOR that I anticipate value of approx. $600k with a third still mortgaged.