All Topics / Finance / Refinancing cross-colateralised (split) loans

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 21 total)
  • Profile photo of SpongySpongy
    Participant
    @spongy

I am somewhat concerned with some refinancing my brother is currently undertaking, hence am asking for some of your expertise so can can stop him if he's about to make a mistake!  I'm a novice myself, but it just doesn't seem right???

He currently has 3 investment properties.  Property 1 has a single loan attached to it.  Property 2 was financed with two loans, the first secured to property 1 and the second loan secured to the actual property.  Property 3 is similar in structure and cross colateralised to property 2. 

He is refinancing all 3 properties with UBank.  The issue I have is that he's combining the separate loans to one mortgage against each property to have each at under 80%LVR.  Therefore the two loans used to fund property two (one or which was secured to property 1) will now be one loan secured to property 2 only.  Same will apply for property 3.  If I've adequately explained it, he's basically mixing debts, thus will not be able to differentiate what loan is for what property.  He's not worried and simply says his accountant can sort it out, but I don't think it's this easy, even though all loans will be IO.

Can someone please help educate me, so I can help him.

Thanks heaps in advance for your time.

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

Did he pay LMI on any of the existing properties? If so then he is losing the LI credit he has up his sleeve. UBank is a good non frills lender but terrible cash out policy and security/development policy so it all depends on what he plans to do with the each of the properties. 

A lot of people underestimate cashout (in order to fund for further purchases) so you want to tackle this sooner than later.

TheFinanceShop | Elite Property Finance
    http://www.elitepropertyfinance.com