All Topics / Help Needed! / geting out of a property deal

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of daniel vicdaniel vic
    Participant
    @daniel-vic

hi there all   i know this might sound stupid but if ive signed a contract for a deal and settlement is taking longer then expected and the area is going for a down hill slide what would i need to get out of a contract i know i can if the developers take longer the 18months what else would be writing in the contract would you expect ? i am new to this and am feeling really not compfterble with the deal i have haven through a buyers agent iam doing my own research and looking for ways out and move on i think any info would be so helpfull thanks alot daniel

mattnz
    Participant
    @mattnz

So is there a sunset clause that is for 18 months?

Profile photo of daniel vicdaniel vic
    Participant
    @daniel-vic

With a sunset clause is that on the developers side of things or mine ?

Profile photo of Reno101Reno101
    Participant
    @reno101

Hi Daniel , did they give you an exact settlement date ? Look into a sunset clause , and or any non delivering of end product , ie  body corporate items , do you have a solicitor who can look into the fine print 

Participant
    @daniel-vic

Yes I do have one I will be in contact with them and see what they say thsnks mate 

Profile photo of Josh AthertonJosh Atherton
    @josh-atherton

Daniel, 

your solicitor will be the best for this. Sometimes a breach of contract can be found on very minor technicalities when issuing the contract for example. However 18 months later it can be hard. 

OTP contracts are generally executed fairly well as developers dont want buyers to be able to change their mind half way through. the sunset clause applies for both parties. If they have gone past the date then could have an out fairly easily

Good luck

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi Daniel