All Topics / Legal & Accounting / innovative capital raising for agriculture (farm)

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Profile photo of nvicnvic
    @nvic

Hi,

I've been managing dairy farm business's for over 10 years. I have looked at available farms for sale at the moment and can see after doing a comprehensive financial  analysis  some of these farm business's are capable of returning good returns on total capital invested. For example looking forward at the 2013/2014 year a 20% ROC is very obtainable provided the right management systems are in place. Looking backwards over the last 5 years which have been full of volatility 10% ROC would be the minimum ROC averaging closer to %15  over time period. Also their is long term capital appreciation of real estate to be applied as well

I've been thinking about ways of raising capital to take advantage of these opportunities.

I guess the issue is ASIC etc.

I understand the need to protect uneducated investors however I also point towards all the "regulated" business's that have lost people money since 2008. This leads me to realize that despite all this regulation that really investors aren't really very well protected at all.

Which leads me to think that if as a business with multiple investors/owners, a new transparent approach could be taken in which silent stakeholders can keep track monthly how the business is running by way of internet/email communications. The information would contain report from an independent farm business consultant backed up with the Key business performance indicators for the operation with actual cashflows verse's budgeted cashflows. Looking at monthly and year to date. This concept allows the stakeholders to be current with how the business is running. This hopefully avoids stakeholders from getting the letter that they have lost money with no possibility of recovering it.