All Topics / Help Needed! / New to property investing – advice needed pls

Register Now for My Free Live Training Series!
Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of LDNNW1LDNNW1
    @ldnnw1

Hi guys,

I'm new to this forum and looking for some advice regarding the best  vehicle and structure for my investment.

At present i am 24 year old Australian citizen although I only moved to live in Sydney from the uk 1.5 years ago.

I have been working full time for the past 6'months as a restaurant manager currently earning around 46000 before tax and super

I have no savings but I have $120,000 gift,from a family member to use a deposit or invest.

I'm also studying full time in sydney. (B bus and hotel management)

As I am not sure i have the earning history to get a mortgage I was thinking of buying some where out right for perhaps 200-250k ( will invest with a family member) and then put the rent into a savings account to add to my  Income. My concern with doing this was that the banks will only take half of the rental income but will assess the entire debt. So would a trust or company be a better vehicle in terms of gaining future approval for mortgage.

Alternatively would I have any chance of getting a mortgage with my present situation for the extra 100-150k? For an investment property?

This is just an option I was considering but am open to any form – just looking to make a start and get on the ladder

Anyway I I'm new to the forum and wanted to get some advice on my situation and any other feedback and criticism, other options would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Nick 

Profile photo of TheFinanceShopTheFinanceShop
    Participant
    @thefinanceshop

1. Determine whether its a good idea to buy with a family member or whether its best to buy yourself only

2. Pick an IP strategy (or two). Is the plan to buy and hold? Subdivide? Development, Cashflow? CG? etc