All Topics / General Property / Cross Co-lateralization

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Profile photo of Investor_todayInvestor_today
    Participant
    @investor_today

Hi all,

I am new to the site and have been following most of your discussions with lot of interest and have found them very educational. I am brand new to the  the property investing scenario and would be grateful if some one could explain to me the meaning of cross colateraliztion . I have some equity in my PPOR which I hope to release for purchase of IPs. I have read that it is not safe to have an equity mortgage and investment mortgage with the same bank as they may cross co-lateralize both properties. Is that right ?

many thanks in advance for your help .

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m

Hi investor_today

Welcome aboard :-)

It's possible to have the two properties with the same lender without them being cross collaterised.

It just all comes down to how the banker/broker structures the loans.

Most bankers (and brokers for that matter) will simply cross up your loans because a) they don't know any better and b) it's quick and easy to do. This is rarely in your best interest.

If you're worried about your structure not being set up properly then you should seek expert assistance from a broker/banker that deals with investors and know a thing or two about setting up finance structures for investors.

Cheers

Jamie

Jamie Moore | Pass Go Home Loans Pty Ltd
    http://www.passgo.com.au
    Email Me | Phone Me

Mortgage Broker assisting clients Australia wide Email: [email protected]

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

Cross collateralising is when you use 2 properties as collateral for the one loan.

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me