All Topics / Help Needed! / Newbie advice needed

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 27 total)
  • Profile photo of chanakyachanakya
    Participant
    @chanakya

Hi All,

Total newbie and my first post in the forum. I am scared when it comes to managing my finances and this has really turned me off in going for an investment property.

I made few wrong decision in 2001 bought a unit in Southwest Sydney and the property value hasn't appreciated as expected. Though the rental market since 2001 has doubled.

I would like to get view on what options I have and what would be worth exploring:

1, I am living in my unit in Liverpool, NSW now. I have still $40K outstanding on my mortgage. I am planning to buy a house withdraw $220k of my unit and put as a deposit to my house. Move to house and make my unit as an invest property. My unit is more than 20 years old and have potential to fetch $350/week rental income.

2, sell my unit. buy a house, move into the house and once settle down then look for a unit. If I do this I need to pay for the stamp duty which is an additional cost.

Any views, please.

Thanks

Cha

Profile photo of N@thanN@than
    Participant
    @n-than

Hi Cha,

I'm sure one of the experts will respond soon but personally I would go with option 2. If you are withdrawing the deposit for your PPOR out of the Investment loan then this amount will not be tax deductible, and you would end up not being able to claim a large amount of your overall interest repayments.

If you sell and use the funds to minimize your PPOR debt on your new house then you can structure everything correctly from the start to maximize your tax position.

I am surprised you havn't seen any growth since 2001! That is a severely underperforming property and I wouldn't hold onto it 'just in case'

Cheers,

Profile photo of Josh AthertonJosh Atherton
    @josh-atherton

Hi Cha,