All Topics / Finance / Private Finance/JV partner required for Investment in Mining areas!

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Profile photo of HarryPotterHarryPotter
    @harrypotter

G'day all,

I have just sold out an IP we owned in Wandoan (future mining town), and made over $110,000K in 20 months.

This was achieved by following and sticking to our plan to enter, manage then exit the property in a predetirmined time frame.

Now that I have some valid experience and solid runs on the board, I am looking to pursue more projects in these areas, but incorporating a shorter time of over 4-8 months, aiming for achieveable profits of $40,000 to $80,000 per project.

<moderator: delete advertising>

Cheers

Peter

Profile photo of ScottsdaleScottsdale
    Participant
    @scottsdale

Hi Peter,

Sorry to hijack your post but wanted to say that's a very impressive profit considering the small population of Wandoan (<500?). I know your strategy isn't buy and hold but out of curiosity, I'm wondering why you sold a property that is in the area of what you know is soon to be one of the largest coal mines this side of the world? Would it not be preferable to have kept the property and extract the equity gained and use that to fund future purchases instead?

Regards,
    Derek

Profile photo of HarryPotterHarryPotter
    @harrypotter

Hi Derek,

Thanks for the accolade.

The thought to keep it did cross my mind at one stage, and yes you are right about the site of one of the biggest coal mines this side of world, but we had a plan and decided to stick with it.
    Yes it was very positive geared and rented at about $1,000 pw and since the landcourt decision of late March 2012 the final green light has been given, which I figured would happen and most likely, give a boost  to property prices which it will.