All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Business activity or private in nature?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of peiranyupeiranyu
    @peiranyu

Hi all,

I am new here. It's so great there is such a forum which provides us a platform to share knowledge, to seek helps and to exchange ideas. So glad to become one of the members here. Thank you all.

My background: I am a IT engineer, and my partner is a architect. We have a couple IPs. (let's say IP_A and IP_B)

Both IPs are currently rented out.

Our current plan is:

1. for IP_A, no change, still leave it to be rented.
    2. for IP_B, it's a corner black, with some vacant land at the back, we are planning to build two townhouses on the back land.
    3. In the future, if we have enough money, buy more IPs, maybe doing some development projects if the market is good. 

I am currently confused on:
    1. the case like ours, is this business activity or private in nature? Obviously we do not want to pay the GST and would like get the 50% discount on CGT. If the GST is paid, I don't think we can make any money from the development.

2. We have the option to build either one big house or two medium size townhouses on the land, talked with some real estate agents, the option of building two houses will generate more profit in term of marketing only. but just thinking with 2 new houses, will it be more difficult to convince the ATO this is not business activity?  Or any other Tax issue related?

3.  If we are determined as business activity, do we need to register the GST now?  For all the GST credit (GST part in building cost, planning cost), do we need to claim them by the end of each financial year or at the date of sale?