All Topics / Overseas Deals / Have just purchased a SIngle family home in Port Charlotte Florida USA need help and advice from experianced investors

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of steveminmitchellsteveminmitchell
    @steveminmitchell

Hi I have just purchased a single family home in Port Charlotte Florida for $42500. I am hoping to hear from fellow USA property investors so we can share information as I am a rookie at overseas property investment. I travelled to Florida myself to select a home as I would never buy anything sight unseen however good a photo looks. Trust me this is so true as I had a list of 10 or so houses that i researched before I left. Not 1 of these houses made it to my short list. The house I have ended up purchasing is on a main road in Port Charlotte close to a Hospital and also close to shops, beach etc. The asking price of the house was $49500 and the vendor was willing to do the deal for $42500 as i was a cash buyer. The house is a Qtr Acre with full Irrigation system, fully fenced ( rare in the states ) 1600 Square foot house built in 1963 but refurbished in the early 2000s with new bathrooms kitchen, roof etc. 3 bedrooms 2 bathrooms. I have had rental estimations anywhere from $650 to $950 a month. So I figure somewhere inbetween would be about right. Another important aspect of the house I purchased is that it is on town water and town sewer. Alot of the cheaper houses in SW Florida are on Septic and well. Which can turn expensive not only maintance but also if the county decides to connect to town services you could be up to $15000 out of pocket. Anyway something to look out for. I am in the process of choosing a property manager and as I had expected costs are higher than in OZ. Anywhere from 10 to 15% plus extra costs for lease writing and collecting rent etc. I believe this to be the most crucial part of this investments success as the property manager will be my eyes in the states. Does anyone have