All Topics / Finance / PPOR to IP loan structure

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Profile photo of BrianNBrianN
    Participant
    @briann

Hi, I am a newbie of this forum and I appreciate your advice on my property investment.

Currently I and my wife own a PPOR worth 550K valued by bank. The loan balance is 175K.

We are going to buy a townhouse at around 737K and plan to move in and turn current PPOR into IP.

I intend to refinance the loans with another bank as follows:

– Set up IO loan for current PPOR and P&I loan with offset a/c for the townhouse
    – Transfer the accessible equity of PPOR (550*80% – 175) = 265K to offset account
    – After paying 20% deposit of 147.4K plus 33K stamp duty and other fees we will have about 84K in offset account
    – The IO and P&I fortnightly payments will be debited from this offset account

My questions are

– Is this the best way to structure the loans in term of tax?
    – As the bank valued PPOR at 550K, I dont need an extra valuation for CGT purpose if I decide to sell it after more than 6 years, do I?
    – If I sell it, for instance, 12 years later for 700K will CGT be (700-550)* 6/12* 50% discount = 37.5K?

Thanks for your advice.

Brian.

Profile photo of Jamie MooreJamie Moore
    Participant
    @jamie-m
    BrianN wrote:

It would be preferable to have a larger deductible debt against your IP. You might be able to regear via a spousal or trust sale. Do you anticipate the new townhouse ever turning into an IP?

BrianN wrote:
    – As the bank valued PPOR at 550K, I dont need an extra valuation for CGT purpose if I decide to sell it after more than 6 years, do I?

No – that should suffice is you ever need to provide what the value was when it became an IP.

BrianN wrote:
    – If I sell it, for instance, 12 years later for 700K will CGT be (700-550)* 6/12* 50% discount = 37.5K?

The CGT will be based on the gain during the time it was an IP.

Cheers

Jamie