All Topics / Overseas Deals / Finding a good Realtor and Property Manager

Viewing 18 posts - 1 through 18 (of 18 total)
  • Profile photo of janemcewenjanemcewen
    @janemcewen

I have finally booked my fligths to the US and it is "getting real". I leave in Jan 2012 and will spend 2 months on the ground in Fort Worth looking for my first US property investment! Very excited.. But so much to get done before it all begins.

I wanted to ask people a list of questions I should prepare for prospective Realtors and Property Managers.
    At this stage I have emailed a few I have found online, but was hoping some people that have been through this process already could give me some advice.
    I understand that Property Managers and Realtors are quite different from Australia so want to ensure I am prepared and asking the right questions.

Have read this forum and have already got some really good tips so far, but would like a further insight.

I appreciate any advice, as I am new to this

Profile photo of baruchmaxbaruchmax
    Participant
    @baruchmax

Hi Jane,

It is definitely a very exciting to be buying first investment property, specially as an overseas buyer. Below are some of the questions I would ask:

Realtors

1) How many overseas investors have you worked with?
    2) Can you provide me references for these overseas investors?
    3) If you like some property, ask the realtor to provide you with comparable sales information for similar properties in last 6 months. Don’t go based on the comparable sales information that is more than 6 months old, as the market may have changed a lot in last 6 months.
    4) If the realtor tries to tell you that Cash Flow = Rent – PITI (Principal, Interest, Taxes, and Insurance). Keep in mind, that’s not true. There are a LOT of other expenses that come with owning a rental property like, vacancy, property management, repairs and maintenance, utilities while the property is vacant, letting fee, etc.

Property Managers