All Topics / Legal & Accounting / Lending a deposit to the family trust

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of st81hp79st81hp79
    @st81hp79

Hi,

I am new to investing through a discretionary trust. I’m hoping to seek advice on the following situation.

I have topped up my loan from one of our IP (joint tenants) and will be lending it to the family trust (Corporate trustee) for a deposit to purchase a property.

Do I need to transfer the deposit amount from the IP loan account to the family trust account for the corporate trustee to draw out a deposit cheque?

Or do I write the deposit cheque from my IP loan account?
    (The cheque will be in our name.)

Also, will I need to record in the minutes that I have lent the money for the family trust to invest at commercial interest rates?

I appreciate for any given advice.

Profile photo of v8ghiav8ghia
    @v8ghia

HI,
    If you are paying a deposit to purchase the property, and seeking finance then for the balance, you MUST pay the deposit via the trust or you will be in breach of SMSF legislation, which could have serious repercussions for you. You cannot 'reimburse' a third party from the SMSF for the deposit. Of course, you could make a gift/contribution to the fund for the deposit amount. Make sure you check this out in more detail before you do anything with a finance professional.

All the best.

Profile photo of st81hp79st81hp79
    @st81hp79
    v8ghia wrote:
    HI,
    If you are paying a deposit to purchase the property, and seeking finance then for the balance, you MUST pay the deposit via the trust or you will be in breach of SMSF legislation, which could have serious repercussions for you. You cannot 'reimburse' a third party from the SMSF for the deposit. Of course, you could make a gift/contribution to the fund for the deposit amount. Make sure you check this out in more detail before you do anything with a finance professional.

All the best.