All Topics / Finance / Finance Question

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of nicolas_bnicolas_b
    @nicolas_b

Hello, My Brother and I are going to go half''s in a primary property November / December of this year. He has lived overseas for the last seven years and has no credit / savings record in Australia. I work as a contractor. (6 months contract, 8 months contract etc…) I earn very good money, however I have no job security. Our plan is to purchase an apartment around the $1.1 Million mark. We have $650k – $700K deposit. (We also have $50K to put aside to cover mortgage payments etc…). This extra $50k will equal ~18 months of loan repayments up our sleeves. Would we be able to obtain finance? Given the fact that I am a contractor and my brother might not of found work when he returns to Australia in September? We have to have the property in both of our names. I understand that we will most probably not make any money. This will be the last opportunity we will have to live together before we both settle down, get married, start a family etc… 
    Any advice much appreciated, Thanks.

Profile photo of nicolas_bnicolas_b
    @nicolas_b

Are Low Doc / No Doc loans still available?

What are the requirements?

Minimum deposit / Maximum deposit?

Would someone qualify $650 K deposit, ($50K to be set-aside for mortgage payments) borrowing $400k.

Profile photo of colinnewlandcolinnewland
    Participant
    @colinnewland

I suggest that you mak ethe application BEFORE he returns to AU, that way he can prove his income from his present employer….hard but much easier than with no provable income or credit rating in AU.
    As for using the entire nest egg in one basket…think again…see if you can buy several smaller investments properties using the min bank deposit….say 20% plus fees.