All Topics / Help Needed! / Helping our children invest

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Profile photo of Nemo30Nemo30
    @nemo30

Hi

I recently inherited $60k following the death of my mum.

My plan was to deposit the money in an offset account against the loan on my PPOR.  I have also recently purchased my first IP.

Another option I am playing with is helping my 16yo son buy his first property. Tonight I was looking through a real estate website and came across what I thought was a fairly good deal at the lower end of the canberra market (its an area ive been researching for the last 12 months or so while looking for my IP).   I would be willing to cover all costs until my son was established in a career.

What is the best way to help your children invest?

Would I just be better off waiting a few years for him to earn enough to purchase his own place and help him with the deposit? 

My situation is a little complicated in that my husband is my sons step father and is not as motivated as I am to help him financially (not interested at all, ever). The money is mine to do what I want with, however if I put in in our offset account it will essentially become a joint asset and not as easy for me to help my son in years to come (but not impossible either).  

My mum helped me buy my first house and I would love her to indirectly help my son too.       

Thanks

Carolyn

Profile photo of ALF1ALF1
    Participant
    @alf1

Hi Carolyn.

May I suggest you contact one of our senior contributors to this forum which is Jamie at Pass Go Home Loans – he lives and works in Canberra and I can personally recommend him to look after you and your aspirations to help your son . I hope the moderator will allow this link to stay so you can contact Jamie. If not his username on this forum is Jamie M.

http://www.passgo.com.au/about

Profile photo of Richard TaylorRichard Taylor
    Participant
    @qlds007