All Topics / Help Needed! / renting out my place

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of zeusrumblezeusrumble
    @zeusrumble

Hey there.
    im new to all this and i couldnt find a post that deals with a similar situation.
    I have a unique opportunity to house sit for a family member for 2 years freeing up my place to be rented out.
    Just wondering where i would start the proces and is it worth renting out the house or would it be best to just sell?
    Id rather keep the place but im seeking advice. Should i contact a fimancial planer to discuss options.
    Would there be taxs on rent gained?

Profile photo of Leah WilkinsLeah Wilkins
    Participant
    @capital-claims

Hi Zeusrumble,

What a great opportunity!  Whether to rent or sell would really be dependent upon your financial situation.  There are some real benefits to renting the property out though.  Obviously there is the rental income which should cover at least part of the mortgage repayments which is always helpful.  The rent you receive will be taxed as assessible income.  This is where it becomes important to maximise the deductions available as a property investor, to keep your assessible income, and therefore your tax, minimised.  One of the best ways to do this is to have a Tax Depreciation Schedule prepared by a professional quantity surveyor.  Depreciation is a deduction you can claim for the gradual wear and tear of your property over time, and is in addition to all the standard expenses that are deductible, such as mortgage interest, repairs and maintenance on the property, management fees etc. 

I recommend doing some reading to help you further understand what it means to have an investment property.  I can recommend Michael Yardneys "How to grow a multi-million dollar property portfolio", even if you aren't looking to do that, it gives some great explanations about what it means financially to invest in property.

<moderator: delete advertising>

cheers,