All Topics / General Property / Rent vs Buy a home

Viewing 20 posts - 1 through 20 (of 20 total)
  • Profile photo of Joel0430Joel0430
    @joel0430

Hi all,

I’m new to this site and property in general so I have limited practical experience. I’m most of the way through 0 to 130 properties and an interesting concept came to mind that I have never thought of before:

In a market where most properties would be negatively geared, is it better to rent than buy? I haven’t done the arithmetic but my logic is this… Negative gearing means that rent doesn’t cover costs. So I would be better off renting a place and saving (or investing elsewhere) the difference between the rent and what I would be paying in loan repayments if I bought the same property. Right?

This is particularly interesting for me because I am currently looking to by my first home, but if its better to rent then ill have to change my game plan. Am I on the right track?

The next step for me would be to figure out how this applies to an apartment in Sydney’s inner west (any specific advise on this market would also be much appreciated)

Cheers,
    Joel

Profile photo of SmartGenYSmartGenY
    @smartgeny

Good to see you are thinking and are definitely on the right track. What you have to do now is a bit of research on house price movements and then speculate.

If you decide the prices will go up in comparison to your alternative investment then you would buy.
    If you decide the prices will go side ways in and your other investment will go up, then you wouldn’t buy.
    If you decide the prices will go down then you wouldn’t buy.

Check out MattNZ, Unmester and to a lesser extent my on posts for reasons on not to buy.
    Check out ALF1 and basically the rest of the forum for reasons to buy.

Have fun speculating :) let us know what you decide.

Profile photo of angelinsydneyangelinsydney
    Participant
    @angelinsydney

Hi smartgeny,