All Topics / Help Needed! / How to start with 50k?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Profile photo of boceanbocean
    Participant
    @bocean

Hey Folks,

I’m a uni grad who’s saved up 50k through part-time jobs and a university scholarship. Having just graduated and holding a full time job I’m starting to lean toward the world of property to begin making the most of my money. I’ve read the book “Steve McKnight’s From 0-130 Properties in 3.5 Years” and while I find some of the advice there quite solid it doesn’t really shed much light on some of the more fundamental questions that I face right now. Questions like, should I start with a student unit near the city? Or perhaps a house in the outer suburbs? Should I keep saving so I can invest in something bigger? Or perhaps jump to shares instead for the short term? Or should I do a financial planning course first?

It’s all very confusing for me right now and I would appreciate any comments or stories people on the forum might have. Thanks in advance.

edit: fixed my horrible spelling!

Profile photo of ALF1ALF1
    Participant
    @alf1

Hi Boshen.

Firstly, there is never the perfect time to start investing into property but, you must start sometime. What and where you invest is going to be contingent on many factors: your ability to borrow and service a mortgage on an IP; how much you can borrow will pretty much dictate what you can invest into (i.e. unit, house, etc.); how much you are earning and your ability to get tax relief through depreciation and variation; and so the list goes on.
    Once you have established how much you can afford to borrow then you must do your 'due diligence' with respect to future capital growth, demand by tenants to rent the property, investing into an area that has the necessary public infrastructure such as shops, public transport, schools, etc and so on.