All Topics / Help Needed! / Ideas for Investment

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Profile photo of Aaron_WAaron_W
    Participant
    @aaron_w

Hello All,
                I'm relatively new to investments and totally green when it comes to property investment. I'm very interested in having something done with what I have accumulated over the last couple of years instead of having it sit in the bank.

As it stands I currently have around $70k in managed funds broken into about $45k in cash and the rest in a few different funds. Also another ~$40k in the bank accounts not doing much.

So all in all around $115k in the accounts. Plus an income that ranges between $70k and $200k (it's contracting, very variable) but has so far been an average of around ~$120k – ~$140k.

I have no debts other than a bit left on my HECS/HELP (~$10k).

I currently rent, have a pretty cool job that I enjoy (most of the time) and it has been very stable in the last 3 years.

I guess what I'm looking for are ideas and inspiration on what to do with it?

I have been looking into buying an investment property in Mackay lately but can't seem to settle on an ideal place at the moment. I have also recently been looking at industrial estates in the local area as well, but I know even less about them than I do residential other than it is higher risk and higher return.

What my ideal goals are is to have a range of investments that offer me a stable income and growth and eventually a high enough passive income so that I can work a little more casually (as opposed to the bashing my social life is getting now) and possibly continue studying and maybe start a small business in the future.

I'd really appreciate any tips or advice anyone can offer.

Profile photo of DerekDerek
    @derek

Hi Aaron,

Reading your post it would appear as if all the ducks are pretty much lined up and all you need to do is take some action.

A couple of comments that may be of use to you.