All Topics / Help Needed! / Where to buy Frankston area / Mornington peninsula (VIC)

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Profile photo of Laurie199Laurie199
    @laurie199

Hello my name is Laurie i am brand new to this, i am 23, and am ready to buy my first property. I am close to the mornington peninsula of Victoria. I have a limit of 350000, I am looking at two 2 bedroom units in Mornington, one at 310k+ and the other for 330k+, i am also looking at 3 bedroom houses in Langwarrin, Skye and Carrum Downs that dont exceed 350k.

My plan is to rent the property out for at least 2 years, then move into it for maybe 3 years, then sell it and buy a 3 bedroom house where i definatly want to live. hopefully in that amount of time i will be in a financial position where i can do that with the pay rises I will be getting at work and what I hope to make off selling the property.

i am wondering is what i am thinking a good idea? is buying a unit in Mornington for nearly the same price as a house elsewhere a good idea? Obviously some are not going to know where some of these locations are but hopefully some will!

Any help is appreciated im tearing my hair out i dont know what to do, every friend or family seems to think that they are an expert and are all  telling me to do something different so i dont know who to listen to.

thanks guys

Laurie

Profile photo of maree_bradrossmaree_bradross
    @maree_bradross

Hi Laurie & welcome.

I looove Mornington & would buy there in a heartbeat – do the units you’re looking at have yards?

Not really a fan of Carrum Downs sorry. We live in Seaford (close to beach and train station) so my bias is there sorry

Profile photo of Cap BCap B
    Participant
    @cap-b