All Topics / Help Needed! / is my property investing on track?

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Profile photo of duckmanduckman
    @duckman

hi everyone, 
                       i was after some advice on my current situation. i work in the mining industry so my wage is good and have been able to brow from the banks with ease un till now where iv found my self maxed out. my ip is in Bayswater WA, the lone i have for that is $370k and am reciving $420pw in rent. my ppor is in melbourne and have a morgage is $470k.

iv been thinking of selling the Bayswater ip and have been told will get around $430k and reinvesting it in melbourne where i live and will be easer to manage. everyone in WA has been telling me to hold on to it and wait for the next "boom" to happen which very well might, hence i am confiused.

Cos i am new to property investing i am wondering if this is a fair position to be in or is there any other advice i should follow.
    any feed back would be much appricated. thanks.

Profile photo of TerrywTerryw
    Participant
    @terryw

If you sell you will be up for a lot of fees: agent, CGT, legals, loan discharges etc

And then a lot of fees on the new purchase: stamp duty, legals, loan fees etc.

I would suggest you do the sums and then get out your crystal ball and see if any extra growth in melbourne will make up for these fees.

(and if any money left over invest in a dictionary??)

Terryw | Structuring Lawyers Pty Ltd / Loan Structuring Pty Ltd
    http://www.Structuring.com.au
    Email Me

Lawyer, Mortgage Broker and Tax Advisor (Sydney based but advising Aust wide) http://www.Structuring.com.au

Profile photo of Kent CliffeKent Cliffe
    Participant
    @kent-cliffe

Hi Duckman,

I'm quite familiar with the Perth market, but not so much about Melbourne (3rd party articles). A few things you should consider and if you want to speak with me any further, feel free the cost is only a phone-call.